days out · parenting · travel

Pops goes to the dentist – a checkup.

Today Pops visited the dentist for the first time!

Before I had Pops I was a dental nurse so I know all about the importance of teaching children about their teeth and the best methods to keep them clean. I always assumed I would find it easy and be able to make sure she brushed her teeth every morning and night and she would just get that it was something she had to do but it’s a struggle some days. 

On the whole she is really good and happily comes to the bathroom to brush her teeth but she goes through little stages of wanting to do them all on her own which I completely understand as she’s trying to be more independent but with something as important as this, she can’t.  You just can’t leave it completely up to a toddler to keep their teeth clean because if they’re anything like Pops they mainly bite the brush and stick to one spot.

I wanted to make sure Pops started going to the dentist young and to be able to build a good relationship up with going, she was really excited to make the journey, the only dentist near us that was accepting new patients was a bus ride away (so weird for me being from London where they always have space for more…maybe too many) 

We got to the dentist and went to the toilet (I tend to ask her before we leave somewhere and when we arrive if she needs a wee) then sign in and make our way up to the waiting room (grabbed a magazine for Pops to read) just about sat down and we were called.

We got into the room and pops was really nervous, which I expected. The dentist tried to take a look but he wasn’t getting very far 🙈 as we was only there to get her used to the experience and not for anything in particular he didn’t keep on at her to make sure she didn’t go away with a bad experience. Plus she got stickers (definitely her favourite part)

I’m so glad I finally took her and started the dental journey and I can link to why letting me help brush her teeth is so important.
For being such a good girl we also went and bought a magazine for a treat (she won’t get one everytime) 

I was definitely sold by the free gift on this issue of Hey Duggee.. They always have amazing ones!

Did you have positive dental experiences How do you make sure your kids/yourself have good oral hygiene? 

Until the next post, 

Are and Pops. 

One thought on “Pops goes to the dentist – a checkup.

Leave a Reply

